Betrayl - Kase Scenarios OSINT Write Up 👺🪓🩸💔

Betrayl - Kase Scenarios OSINT Write Up 👺🪓🩸💔

·

5 min read

Betrayl - Kase Scenarios OSINT Write Up 👺🪓🩸💔

While researching for new OSINT challenges, I stumbled upon a website called Kase Scenarios, where you have to investigate fictional cases.

Kase Scenarios has a challenge for $50 called Dark Waters, where you have to uncover the dark secrets of a town.

It takes 15-20 hours to solve this OSINT challenge and is available until March 15th, 2024. Once you solve the challenge, you will earn a badge. I’m going to tackle this one soon. Now, let’s embark on this new challenge, Betrayal.

Unravel the twisted web of lies and BETRAYAL as you fill the shoes of Private Investigator Lucien Grey exposing the Blackwood family secrets in this riveting story based on real cases” ~ Kase Scenarios

Beginning the challenge, I found out the victim in this OSINT task is 52-year-old Connie Blackwood. Connie was found lifeless at the bottom of the stairs. Police ordered an autopsy because they suspected foul play. This is where I come in.

Five minutes into starting Betrayal, I read the death report, and follow-up investigation which cited the husband, Victor Blackwood as the murderer, and several other documents.

Connie suffered blunt force trauma to the head according to her death report.

One thing I forgot to mention was, Connie’s son found her dead. Is he the one who killed her? I asked myself this question multiple times because according to the police report, Victor was out drinking(the witness report proved this correct). Also in the police report, Victor mentioned she sometimes drank and insinuated she may have fallen down the stairs while intoxicated.

As the course continued, I was finally asked a question. What was the name of the alarm system? Now, I read through the reports and did not find anything about the alarm system. Therefore, I looked up both Victor and Connie Blackwood through Google, to see if there were any mentions on social media about an alarm! But I did not find anything. So, the next thing I did, was looked up the address of the house.

Lucky for me, I was able to enter a virtual tour of the property! After spending five minutes walking around the home, I was able to find the alarm system! 😎

However, after submitting the answers, I had to also find out how many computers were inside of the home. I found two computers, one upstairs and one downstairs !! After answering the questions, I was asked to crack a password! There was a sticky note with a quote that my fictional team thought would bring us the answer to the password. The quote is by Arthur Conan Doyle ( maybe his name is the password ). I typed the author’s name in and that was not the answer! However, after reading more about the quote, the quote talks about what comes around and goes around . So, is it possible the password is Karma? Nope that wasn’t the password either. But wait ! Arthur Conan Doyle is the author of Sherlock Holmes! That didn’t work either . The quote is from the book The Adventure of the Speckled Band. Could that be it?

Now after researching the book, I took note, of a female protagonist being killed. And a snake appeared in the novel.

I tried several words and none of them was the password! However, I tried one more password!

The password ended up being Swapadder ( the type of snake that appeared in the novel ) !!!

Continuing with the OSINT challenge, another witness ( Mrs. Barrera) mentioned, seeing a car drive away and captured a blurry picture of the make and model of the car . I saved the picture and uploaded it to Google Lens and most of the similar pictures were of a Volkswagen Golf. As I typed in the make and the model of the Volkswagen, nothing came up! However, I realized I was looking at the wrong car.

Halfway through the case, you will be able to open the USB drive. The USB drive is password protected! The password is swampadder ( found this earlier in the case ),

When I opened the USB drive, I was in for a surprise. The contents in the drive are egregious,

Connie, the estranged wife of Victor was cheating on him! This is the same car that was in the picture! The pictures are from the files of a private investigator! Not only that but there were checks and life insurance policies taken out! Did Victor kill his wife for cheating on him?

The exhilaration of discovering more information lead me down a rabbit hole! 🐰🕳️

As I went down the rabbit hole, there was another witness who stated an online troll who said he can get away with murder. The witness mentioned this troll has a youtube account MuscleMan69 . Once I went to his youtube page, there was a link to a FB account. https://www.facebook.com/groups/237143225575567.

Long and behold, the creator of the page is Rhett Blackwood !!!!!! Is Rhett Blackwood, Victor’s brother?

I was tasked to find Connie’s social media account. I tried looking through Rhett’s social media page to see if Connie was a friend, but Rhett does not have any noticeable friends on FB.

However, a social media account linked to Connie was found in the business card Victor left after his interview with the police department.

Connie had a TikTok account. This could be found when in the click here form link, which directs you to a mega folder. In The mega.nz folder, there is a folder that says security! When I clicked on the tab, Connie’s TikTok Account was found!

After getting Connie’s social media, and submitting a report, both Rhett and Victor were found guilty of the crime.

Victor and Rhett hashed a plan to kill Connie, to get her life insurance money. Victor knew his wife was cheating on him, but used this as a way to get back at his wife. Victor bribed his brother to kill Connie.

This has been the best OSINT challenge I had to solve to date! I felt like Scooby Doo and Mystery Inc looking for clues. Until next time!